Meghan W

Disappointment: Eating Me on A Friday Night

In Uncategorized on June 15, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Image

Geez. My last post got a very disappointing number of views. 0. I don’t like to be so easily persuaded, but it seems like my blog is failing a bit. I’m not quite sure why though. Are book reviews not in vogue for WordPress? Perhaps. And I know there are only so many books I can read with so many types of genres, but even I was worried before I created my blog that it would be boring, a waste of words. I was actually weirdly excited about my last post because I thought it was a great perspective not many people think about. It was either so good that people couldn’t possibly fathom it/bother to read it or it was just a huge flop. I’m favoring the latter.

I don’t want my blog to be a collection of my thoughts. They’re not that interesting. I keep a journal for my thoughts, and people will never read them (because I won’t let them). So. What should I do about my blog? Leave it be? I can never do that. I am not one to quit. I may feel like it most of my life–that’s just the personality I was born with– but I was also born with the personality that perseveres, that forces me to finish everything I start. So I guess I won’t trash this blog. If anything, it will be a trial run for my hopefully more interesting blog about my life at St Andrews University in the fall.

Maybe I should shift the point of my blog: keep it semi-focused on books and the written word. Maybe a couple posts on special phrases and thoughts from books I’ve read along the way? A history lesson on a topic that was in a book I read a dozen years ago? I’m no expert (although I’m trying– it’s a history major’s life goal) but I have tons of educational books I’ve picked up along the way (nerd status). Maybe I should add more pictures. I just haven’t seemed to master HOW to perfect adding photos– good photos, at that.

I really didn’t want to think that people won’t care about my reading tastes. That’s maybe why I started out with Nancy Drew. And sure enough, the most views I’ve ever received was Pt 3 of my ND series. I got less for Julia Quinn, and I suppose that’s understandable, since she’s a very specific writer with a very specific genre that not everyone’s into. I get that. But what am I supposed to write about if I’m trying to cater to everyone’s interests? I received no notifications today. Not one. And that disappoints me. I thought that by writing this blog I would feel a sense of purpose in my otherwise excruciating, grueling summer in which I am jealous toward everyone with a paying job. Jealousy motivated this blog. I won’t lie. I thought– maybe I can do this, and place it on my resume, and have it be respectable and professional, worthy of the Smithsonian (where I wish to intern next summer and eventually work permanently).

Don’t give up on me yet.

We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope. MLK Jr

  1. I’m following you, keep writing! and reading… It takes time I guess. I think I have 6 readers, 5 of them are related to me. Good luck and if you like food, you should follow me too 🙂

  2. Don’t quit! I follow you too! I enjoy your take on books and it’s useful to me because it helps me decide what to read and what to skip.

Leave a Reply

