MPW

Coldplay: Glowing in the Dark

In A History on July 4, 2012 at 12:59 pm

our wristbands glowing in the dark!

Monday night I attended a Coldplay concert with a friend. It was my second time seeing them. The first was back in 2009 when I was still in high school. The first time, it was raining and we were on the lawn. That didn’t smash the fact that it was the best night of my life to date. This time was fantastic as well.

Coldplay is my favorite band EVER. Even when I find a new band and I constantly listen to their songs on repeat,  NOTHING can compare to Coldplay. NOTHING can be better than Coldplay.

I apologize for the low quality of these photos…my camera isn’t working as it used to.

Why do I feel that way?

I talked to people who attended Coldplay concerts, and all of them– without fail– said a Coldplay concert was the best concert they had ever attended. And I agree.

Why are Coldplay concerts so amazing? (and yes, this will be from the viewpoint of a truly loving and obsessive fan)

1) they are really impressive concerts. Chris Martin (the lead singer, for those sad, sad people who don’t know the names of Coldplay members) had an amazing amount of never ending energy. He jumps around, he runs around, he falls down on the ground multiple times, he waves his arms when not at the piano, and he even moves when he plays the piano.  

2) they sound the exact same live and on recordings. The first time I heard them live I was blown away. I couldn’t believe how real it sounded. It was like I had put my iPod on massive speakers and was blasting it across the amphitheater.

3) they include the audience. The first concert, Chris asked about the people way in the back (where we were) and the people on the right and left. He made up a song on the spot about our city, which of course made the crowd go wild. He sang our state’s song. He came out on the lawn for THIRTY MINUTES and sang TEN FEET AWAY FROM ME. Literally. I could see the sweat on his face, and the muscles in his neck. BREATHTAKING. This concert he did a similar thing, but it was still different. He asked how we were doing on the left, and the right, and up in the nosebleed sections (it was a closed amphitheater), and the lucky people on the floor (really, how ELSE could they be doing except feeling awesome?). He said multiple times how he loved coming back to our city and how much they appreciate our support. I don’t know if he says that in every city, but it still made us feel special (and I somehow don’t think that a writer of those lyrics would copy something like that). And, lastly, they include the audience by playing off the stage. THEY CAME AND PLAYED IN MY SECTION LAST NIGHT!! I can hardly believe that I would be fortunate enough to be that close to them twice. It’s something I will never forget, and I feel so privileged to have experienced that.

acoustic version of The Scientist. Tear jerker.

4) Chris Martin sometimes plays the acoustic version of his songs. Last night he played The Scientist and part of Warning Sign acoustically. In 2009 he played The

Hardest Part acoustically. He plays beautifully, andseeing the songs performed a different way is very special to watch. To me, it looked like there was so much more feeling in the acoustic performance. I appreciate that. People listen to music to feel something, whether that comes from the lyrics, the melody, or the instrumentals.

so close to me!!

5) Coldplay’s lyrics really affect the die-hard fan, and every song features a special lyric or too. Seeing them performed live, with such passion, energy, and happiness is an unforgettable and unique experience.

Personally, I’ve been a Coldplay fan for many, many years. I can’t remember exactly when, but it was most likely 5th or 6th grade that I discovered them, and I liked them from the beginning. To date, The Hardest Part is my favorite song (but really, I love all of them). It’s currently my ring tone. Fix You will always be a cherished song.

“When you try your best but you don’t succeed, when you get what you want but not what you need, when you feel so tired but you can’t sleep…stuck in reverse.” That seems like the catchphrase of my life. And I’ve heard people say “Ignite your bones” is a stupid phrase, but I personally love it. I think it’s a lovely sentiment, even if it doesn’t make complete sense. It’s the same with Yellow. It made the top 10 worst lyrics a few years ago, but the song is so beautiful, and sometimes lyrics don’t need to make perfect sense. The way Coldplay plays it and the way its sung makes it a stunning piece of music, regardless if “it was all yellow” is stupid (which it’s not! Hmph).

The complexity of a lyric is what makes an artist accomplished. This is only my opinion, but I wouldn’t be surprised if many Coldplay listeners agreed with me. Hurts Like Heaven, Don’t Let it Break Your Heart, Sparks, and Glass of Water, just to name a few, have wonderful lyrics full of imagery, metaphor, and beauty.

Have you ever listened to Proof and A Message? The lyrics. If I was an emotional person, I don’t doubt I would cry every time I played them. “And I’m covered it’s true. I’m covered in you… In you I find proof.” And the repetition of “light” and “dark” is full of imagery, and is facilitated by the rising and dropping in Chris’ voice. I mean, please. He must have been a heart-breaker back in the day (I personally don’t look at their bios because I only want their music to affect my opinion of them). A Message has personally helped me out when I was feeling upset, or lonely, or simply frustrated with life (we’ve all experienced this, right?) It’s a really beautiful song, and I encourage all of you who haven’t heard it to go listen to it, and focus on the lyrics. And if you have heard it, you should go take another look at it.

Okay, well I’m done ranting now about my most absolute favorite band in the whole entire world. I just wanted to share with you why I love them so much, and why you all should give them a chance. And if you’re in town when they’re preforming, GO SEE THEM!!

Basically, I just wanted to write this post to share my love of Coldplay. Even though I’d love to keep them for myself, I know I can’t do that! I believe Coldplay is unique in so many ways, and they are more special (to me) than any pop singer, rapper, or other alt/indie artists.

What about you guys? Do you have a band you’ve loved  since childhood? Do you have a band you’d give your left arm to see in concert? Both arms? ; )

Word of the Day: Paroxysm– any sudden, violent outburst; a fit of violent action or emotion. (Source: Dictionary.com)

P.S. I realize I posted that my next post would be about Jamie Fraser and Outlander, but I had to post this first because the concert happened so recently. I’ll get to it, I promise!

Leave a Reply

