Meghan W

Hello From the Other Side

In Uncategorized on June 3, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Hello readers,

It’s been 4 years since my last post. Originally, I began this site as a way to occupy by unemployed summer before studying abroad my junior year of college. I wasn’t unemployed by choice, and I was too restless to sit on the couch all summer. I won’t say I wasn’t surprised to see that people continued to access my site.

In the 4 years since my last post, a lot has happened. I graduated college with degrees in history and art history. I graduated from graduate school with a degree in historic preservation. I worked at some amazing organizations involved with historic preservation (with a stint at Yankee Candle where my love of candles may have turned into an alarming hoarding situation).

Now, I find myself in a similar corner as when I first began this blog. It is summer–and this summer is truly jarring for me. Four years ago I happily stayed within the confines of my parents’ air-conditioned house in Georgia where I began the habit of avoiding the sun however I can (and suffering the pale, pale result). Now, I sit in my carriage house apartment that faces east in the magical, wonderful, lovely city of Charleston, South Carolina. I have two AC-window units that are so pitiful it makes me sad thinking about them. My apartment is a constant 85 degrees once May comes around.

Though I am way more patient about the job search than I was four years ago, I have so much time on my hands now that I do not spend 14 hour days in studio writing my thesis on early American stables (available through ProQuest, should it strike your fancy). I do not like being restless, nor do I enjoy having this much time on my hands. There’s only so many hours you can spend writing and submitting job applications in a day, after all!

I am still as voracious a reader as always, and I am happy to say that I’ve branched out a bit in the types of work I am drawn to. Tomorrow, I will be taking my havanese to Blue Bicycle Books on King Street, where I hope to find many more books to line my shelves! They’ve always got a wonderfully curated selection of books ranging from coffee table books to children books to award-winning novels. I even found a book on the barns of the county in Georgia I’m from! HPGraduation

Ta-da! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

